RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Staff

The staff of the Ethics Commission has responsibility for the daily operations of the agency. The Executive Director is the chief administrative officer, directs all investigative and enforcement activities, prosecutes complaints before the Commission, litigates matters before the Superior and Supreme Courts of Rhode Island, and coordinates policy decisions of the Commission. The Education Coordinator designs, develops and directs all educational programs, including seminars and publications, acts as a liaison to the public and the media, and coordinates the Commission's advisory opinion and public access programs. The Senior Staff Attorney oversees investigative matters, conducts prosecutions, represents the Commission in court litigation and drafts legal recommendations for the Commission regarding advisory opinions, legislation and policy matters. Staff Attorneys draft advisory opinions, and represent the Commission in investigations, prosecutions and litigation matters. The Investigators investigate complaints filed by private parties and by the Commission, oversee preliminary investigations and process and review non-complaint information received by and/or referred to the Commission. The Office Manager and ancillary staff maintain all financial disclosure and complaint records and provide administrative support to all Commission programs and activities. Considerable staff time is devoted to creating and maintaining accessible records for public inspection. Staff respond to hundreds of requests for information and access to public records maintained by the Commission.

 

Personnel

Rhode Island Ethics Commission 222-3790 E-mail
Executive Director/Chief Prosecutor Jason M. Gramitt, Ext. 17 jason.gramitt@ethics.ri.gov
Senior Staff Attorney Katherine D'Arezzo, Ext. 16 katherine.darezzo@ethics.ri.gov
Education Coordinator/Staff Attorney Vacant  
Staff Attorney Teresa Giusti, Ext. 20 teresa.giusti@ethics.ri.gov
Staff Attorney Teodora Popova Papa, Ext. 11 teodora.papa@ethics.ri.gov
Chief of Investigations Steven Cross, Ext. 22 steve.cross@ethics.ri.gov
Deputy Chief Investigator Peter J. Mancini, Ext. 19 peter.mancini@ethics.ri.gov
Investigator Gary Petrarca, Ext. 13 gary.petrarca@ethics.ri.gov
Office Manager Tracy Teixeira, Ext. 12 tracy.teixeira@ethics.ri.gov
Financial Disclosure Officer Michelle Berg, Ext. 15 michelle.berg@ethics.ri.gov
Administrative Assistant Christine Andreozzi, Ext. 21 christine.andreozzi@ethics.ri.gov
Research Aide Sherilyn Gutierrez, Ext. 10 sherilyn.gutierrez@ethics.ri.gov

 

Legal Counsel

The services of the Legal Counsel are retained independent of the executive director or other Commission employees. The counsel responds to questions of law posed by Commission members. The Commission’s Legal Counsel is Herbert F. DeSimone, Jr., Esq.